Lake Leake was built in 1880 to supply permanent water for Campbell
Town, approx 30 mins drive to the east. Visitors can enjoy picnic and
BBQ facilities, bush scenery and great brook trout, brown trout and
rainbow trout fishing. Currawong Lakes trout fishery and wildlife
retreat are on the Long Marsh dam Road at Lake Leake.
Lake Leake is also the name of a village close by which has a
population of around 170. The village is built on land owned by the
Northern Midlands Council. Inhabitants must purchase a license to have
a building there are restricted in the number of days per year they can
live there. The main purpose is to accommodate recreational anglers.
The lake was constructed after a long debate. A five metre high dam was
finished in 1884. The initial capacity was 19.9 Mm3 and an area of 6
km2. In 1971 the spillway highest point was raised by 18 cm to increase
storage capacity. Water is released for irrigation and also stored to
maintain a fishing facility. Lake Leake has always been at least half
full. The lake was named after Charles Henry Leake a member of the
Tasmanian Legislative Council.