Mangana became the first gold mining site in the Fingal Municipality
and indeed, in Australia, when alluvial gold was discovered there in
1852. A minor gold rush to The Nook, as it was then known, resulted,
and soon 500 prospectors were panning the creeks and digging tunnels
and shafts. The township of Mangana gradually declined as one by one
the mines closed, and none are operational today. A few of the
town’s original buildings remain.hurch at Port Arthur. St Thomas
was consecrated on the 8th May 1842.
Whilst the Mangana gold fields never reached the heights of the
Mathinna fields, twenty kilometres to the north, it was quite
productive with a number of mines such as the Golden Sovereign,
Entrance, Argyle, Alpine, Fingal Gully, Majors Gully and Mangana Gold
all making a nice profit. But by 1930 all mines had run out of gold and
closed, all that remained were a few individuals panning the
creeks. Mangana slowly declined after 1930 and what was once a
vibrant community with over 500 people, a police station, general
store, three hotels, school and two churches, is today a small tranquil
village with a mere 30 odd residents.
The most significant remaining building is the Our lady of the Sacred
Heart Catholic Church, which was built in 1912 and designed by
Launceston architect Alexander North. The 95 year old building is on
the Tasmanian heritage register with one of its highlights being the
stained glass windows, all of which were donated by Mangana families.
Its interior is also of interest due to the use of Tasmanian native
timbers, both in the structure and its furnishings.
View Larger Map
Where Is it?
Mangana is 10 km north west of Fingal, 148 km north east of Hobart.